Nautical 75th Birthday

The Nautical 75th Birthday Party I put together last month was one of the most fun! Living in Arizona we don’t get to see a whole lot of nautical or beachy things regularly, making this party fun and challenging!

IMG_5453

This was a full service event for 30 guests and included:

Catering service coordination

Furniture/ room layout

Rental equipment coordination

Room decorations

Centerpieces, linens and table setting

Party favors

Guestbook

Beverage center coordination

Upon the first meeting with my clients I did a walk through of the space and we determined how many tables and chairs would fit to accommodate guests and what furniture needed to be moved or removed from the party location. We also narrowed down the catering menu and decoration details.

Although, it was a nautical theme finding fresh fish in AZ is difficult so my client and I decided to go with BBQ instead. We catered the meal, buffet style with Famous Dave’s. The food was delicious and the customer service was exceptional!

IMG_5449

For the food table I set up a sailboat centerpiece on navy linens with fish net.

IMG_5451

For the beverage station I ordered the most adorable anchor paper straws and used a boat shelf and one of my drink dispensers to serve lemonade. My customer also provided guests with wine, beer, and soda, which we displayed in large grey buckets filled with ice.

IMG_5448

IMG_5437

Each table was covered in navy linens, fish net, sea shells and glass vases. I used rope and a candle in the glass vases to add to the nautical theme. I also placed the napkins and disposable silverware at each place so the guests didn’t have to carry more than a plate when they got their food.

IMG_5453

IMG_5438

The napkins and silverware might be one of my favorite details, each set of silverware was tied with white rope. Simple and nautical!

IMG_5377

For the favor table my client chose to give saltwater taffy to guests. I ordered rugby stripped favor bags and used gold ink to stamp little sailboats on each one. My client had a collection of seashells that they had acquired from many travels and we displayed them on this table too!

IMG_5431

As a guest book I purchased a lifesaver from a local pool supply company and some navy oil sharpies. I wish I would have remembered to get a picture of the finished product to show you but I think you get the idea. The lifesaver is hung on a wire wreath stand from a local craft store’s floral department.

IMG_5434

My customer chose to purchase a cake from another company and I created a special cake table for it and included my lanterns as decoration.

IMG_5432

I made a “Happy 75th Birthday” banner and hung it over the fire place and paper pendant flags that I hung over the entire room. Although it is hard to see the detail of the paper flags, they were my favorite decoration that really took the décor over the top!

IMG_5445

IMG_5440

I feel like this party was a success, even if I haven’t been on a boat for a really long time!

IMG_5460

Happy 75th Birthday Dave!

Share your thoughts!

