Schools out! Graduation Party

This past weekend was a busy one! I had two parties back to back and one I was the host for! This week I was blessed to host my sisters 30th birthday party and coordinate a high school graduation party.

This recap is going to be of the graduation party : )

When I was first contacted by my client and friend Dani to help her out with her daughters graduation party I was super excited and had a million ideas but , as my company name suggests, I like to keep things simple keeping the theme in the details.

Here is a breakdown of what the event details:

Event theme: Graduation Party

Event location: graduate’s backyard

Number of Guests: 50

Color scheme: Green, black and silver

Food: Chips and sandwiches

Drinks: Water and lemonade

Dessert: The graduate’s favorite, Key Lime Pie!

We wanted to keep the cost as low as possible for this event so we made the sandwiches in house; a little morning assembly cut the cost by about $30. A few bags of chips and condiments were all that we needed to make a meal.

IMG_4650

Since we live in AZ we needed to have plenty to drink and decided that lemonade and water would do the trick.

For dessert, I am a cake artist but the graduate does not like cake so she opted for pie instead. I will admit that I have never made a key lime pie and I didn’t want to learn now so I ordered the pies from a local diner.

IMG_4652

The decorations were simple, I tied twine over the food table from column to column and used small clothes pins to attached photos of the grad over the years. All the guests enjoyed reminiscing.

IMG_4641

I also added green and black balloons through out the party space to designate areas. I added a little silver paint to them to make them stand out ( I was going to say “pop” but we don’t want balloons to pop! Lol!)

IMG_4642

The plates, napkins, cups and silverware were all color coordinated to the theme and I tied the napkins with thin black ribbon to resemble diplomas.

IMG_4521

For the photo booth I went for a deconstructed look and used kraft paper and a big 2015 on the top framed by a couple of balloons. I was able to reuse photo booth props from my sisters party for it as well!

IMG_4644

That’s pretty much it, simple and fun! All that’s left to say is “Congratulations!” to the graduate!

IMG_4655

Share your thoughts!

